EU Council list of third-countries for which member states are recommended to open borders

EU Council list of third-countries for which member states are recommended to open borders

The EU Council has reviewed its recommendation to the Member States, on the gradual removal of the entry ban for the residents of epidemiologically safe third countries.

In its second review of the recommendation, since the first was presented on June 30, the Council has excluded another country from the list, which is Algeria. The EU Council has asserted that the number of Coronavirus cases in Algeria is spiking up – therefore, travelers from this area bring the risk of infection to the EU.

The reviewed list of the countries to which the Member States are recommended to reopen their borders starting from July 31 is as follows.

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

The EU Council reiterates that the residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The criteria to determine the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted cover, in particular, the epidemiological situation and containment measures, including physical distancing, as well as economic and social considerations. They are applied cumulatively, EU Council says in a press release.

The Council first published its list of third-countries ranked as epidemiologically safe and recommended to the member states to reopen border for the resident of 15 countries, the 12 countries listed above plus Algeria, Montenegro, and Serbia.

In the first review of the list, on June 16, Montenegro and Serbia were removed from the list due to an increase in coronavirus cases in these two countries. Now Algeria has been removed for the same reason.

However, as the recommendation is not a legally binding instrument, not all countries have applied it. Some as Sweden have done so, but others like Poland and Hungary ahs refused to open their borders to third countries at all.